Ballraíocht Ar | Déan Teagmháil Linn


FOI networks provide a support infrastructure for FOI and they facilitate a consistent approach to FOI and shared learning. A number of networks have been around since the start of FOI and they have continued to meet, others are in the process of being established. All FOI officers are encouraged to be actively involved in an FOI network which are one of the main forums for discussion and communication in the area of FOI.

National FOI Networks:

There are two national FOI networks, the Public Service User Networks and the Inter Departmental Working Group Network. Below you will find the Terms of Reference of these two networks and the minutes of the latest meetings. The Central Policy Unit Chairs these two networks and they are the point at which all the other networks interlink.

Dates for your diary 2016 –  Schedule for the Public Service User Networks and the Inter Departmental Working Group Network meetings in 2016

Wednesday – 09 March 2016

Agreed Minutes
Agreed Minutes IDWG Minutes 04 December (F)

Agenda IDWG Meeting 09 March 2016

National Archives         PQNote         FOI Note

Agreed Minutes

Agenda PSUN Meeting 09 March 2016


Agenda PSUN Meeting 09 March 2016


National Archives         PQNote         FOI Note

Wednesday – 08 June 2016

Agreed Minutes





Agreed Minutes

Agreed Agenda



Next scheduled meetings

Tuesday – 4 April 2017

Existing Local FOI Networks:

A number of local networks meet regularly and have done since the start of FOI. These networks are one of the most important FOI resources we have and the CPU encourages and supports these types of groups. Details on who are the members and chairs are below. If you feel that a network like this would be something you would like to join please contact the Chair.

Voluntary Hospital FOI Networks:

Chaired by June Molloy, The Rotunda Hospital

Beaumont Hospital
Cappagh Orthopaedic Hospital
Central Remedial Clinic
Childern’s University Hospital Temple Street
Coombe Women & Infants University Hospital
Dublin Dental Hospital Board
Incorporated Orthopaedic Hospital (Clontarf)
Leopardstown Park Hospital
Mater Misericordiae Hospital Limited
Mercy University Hospital, Cork
National Maternity Hospital, Holles St.
National Rehabilitation Hospital (Dun Laoghaire)
Our Lady’s Hospice Limited, Harold’s Cross
Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin
Rotunda Hospital
Royal Hospital, Donnybrook
Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital
South Infirmary/Victoria University Hospital Ltd., Cork
St. Francis Hospice, Raheny
St. James’s Hospital
St. John’s Hospital, Limerick
St. Luke’s Hospital
St. Mary’s Baldoyle
St. Micheal’s Hospital (Dun Laoghaire)
St. Patrick’s Hospital/Marymount Hospice, Cork
St. Vincent’s Psychiatric Hospital (Fairview)
St. Vincent’s University Hospital (Elm Park)
Tallaght Hospital

Universities FOI Networks:

Chaired by Sinead MacBride, Trinity College Dublin

Trinity College Dublin
University College Dublin
University College Cork
NUI Maynooth
NUI Galway
Dublin City University
Dublin Institute of Technology
University of Limerick
Royal College of Surgeon
Institute of Public Administration

Institutes of Technology FOI Network:

Institute of Technology  FOI Network Membership:
Chaired by Peter McGrath, Dundalk Institute of Technology

Dundalk Institute of Technology
Waterford Institute of Technology
Institute of Technology Blanchardstown
Cork Institute of Technology
Institute of Art Design Technology Dub Laoghaire
Galway Mayo Institute of Technology
Letterkenny Institute of Technology
Limerick Institute of Technology
Institute of Technology Sligo
Institute of Technology Tralee
Institute of Technology Tallaght
Carlow Institute of Technology

Local Authority FOI Network:

Chaired by John Conway, Local Government Management Agency

BMW Assembly
Carlow County Council
Cavan County Council
Clare County Council
Cork City Council
Cork County Council
Department of Environment Community and Local Government (Local Govt Section)
Donegal County Council
Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown County Council
Fingal County Council
Galway City Council
Galway County Council
Irish Water
Kerry County Council
Kildare County Council
Kilkenny County Council
Laois County Council
Leitrim County Council
Local Government Management Agency
Limerick Local Authorities
Longford County Council
Louth County Council
Mayo County Council
Meath County Council
Monaghan County Council
National Roads Authority
Road Safety Authority
Tipperary County Council
Offaly County Council
Roscommon County Council
South and East Regional Assembly
Sligo County Council
South Dublin County Council
Waterford City and County Council
Waterford County Council
Westmeath County Council
Wexford County Council
Wicklow County Council

Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht FOI Network

Chaired by Julie Flanagan, Department of Arts Heritage and the Gaeltacht.

Arts Council
Board of the National Library of Ireland
Board of the National Museum of Ireland
Chester Beatty Library
The Irish Film Board
The Irish Manuscripts Commission
The Irish Museum of Modern Art
National Archives
The National Archives Advisory Council
The National Concert Hall
The National Gallery of Ireland
Údarás na Gaeltachta
Heritage Council
Comisineir Teanga
Crawford Gallery

Justice & Equality FOI Network

Chaired by Aisling Brennan, Department of Justice & Equality

The Courts Service
Charities Regulatory Authority
Irish Film Classification Office
National Disability Authority
Office of the Data Protection Commissioner
Property Registration Authority
Property Services Regulatory Authority
The Probation Service
Garda Siochána Ombudsman Commission
Garda Inspectorate
Office of the Refugee Applications Commissioner
Office of the Refugee Appeals Tribunal
Forensic Science Laboratory
An Garda Siochána
Legal Aid Board

Commercial Bodies FOI Network

Chaired by Lorraine Sibley, National Treasury Management Agency

The National Treasury Management Agency
The Strategic Banking Corporation
The Central Bank
Gas Networks
Irish Water
Science Foundation Ireland
Personal Injuries Board
The National Asset Management Agency

National Federation of Voluntary Bodies

Chaired by Theresa Hendley, Ability West

Ability West
Brothers of Charity, Clare
Brothers of Charity, Cork
Brothers of Charity, Galway
Brothers of Charity, Limerick
Brothers of Charity, Roscommon
Brothers of Charity, Waterford
Camphill Communities
Carriglea Cairde Services
Cheeverstown House
COPE Foundation
Daughters of Charity Services
Peamount Hospital
Muiriosa Foundation
St. John of God Hospitaller Services
St. Michael’s House
St. Patrick’s Kilkenny
Stewarts Care
Sunbeam House Services
Western Care

Education and Training Boards Network

Chaired by George O’Callaghan, Limerick & Clare Education and Training Board

Cavan and Monaghan Education and Training Board
City of Dublin Education and Training Board
Cork Education and Training Board
Donegal Education and Training Board
Dublin and Dun Laoghaire Education and Training Board
Galway and Roscommon Education and Training Board
Kerry Education and Training Board
Kildare and Wicklow Education and Training Board
Kilkenny and Carlow Education and Training Board
Laois and Offaly Education and Training Board
Limerick and Clare Education and Training Board
Longford and Westmeath Education and Training Board
Louth and Meath Education and Training Board
Mayo,Sligo and Leitrim Education and Training Board
Tipperary Education and Training Board
Waterford and Wexford Education and Training Boards